To Switch or not to switch, that is the question

I am facing a little dilemma.  Back when I bought my camera which you can read about here.  I thought I made a good decision, it was the best bang for my buck.  Best feature set at a decent price and 2 lens kit.  Since then I have invested in a macro lens, so now I have a basic, zoom, and a macro lens, and a Olympus Flash gun.  I bought the E-500 which was announced in September 2005.  It was a great promise, the 4/3 system, compact lenses, good technology.  Olympus and Panasonic were the only 2 companies to adopt this system, and later sigma joined in making lenses for the system.  Later I found out that lenses are too expensive for this system so I decided to wait and hope to be able to buy in the used market, with no luck.  Now it looks like Olympus and Panasonic are going full speed towards the micro 4/3 system.  Panasonic seems to have dropped making any 4/3 systems, Olympus only made a Pro grade system..

In February 2009 they announced the E-620 which seems to be the last entry-level 4/3 dSLR.  Shortly after that in June 2009 they announced the Pen line of cameras, the Micro 4/3 system.  Today we are in February 2011, 2 years after the last announcement of the entry-level dSLR, and nothing in terms of entry-level dSLR.  Only a Pro level camera announced, but hell I can’t afford that, plus who needs a Tank, it’s a great camera and all, no doubt, but still.  I can’t find the E-620 on the market anymore to upgrade to it.  On the second-hand market at least in Hungary I only find kits being sold, and no E-620.  Plus as I mentioned above I can’t find any lenses in the second-hand market, and the new ones are more expensive than the average, Canon, Nikon, or even Sony lenses.

I think now is the best time to abandon this system before it’s too late and no one will be willing to buy my used in perfect condition camera, and lenses.   It’s time to switch to a more established camera brand.

Canon seems to be a good choice, even their entry-level camera’s are compatible with all their lenses made since 1983.  Nikon decided to differentiate their entry-level from their semi-pro by making the latter compatible with their older lenses, while the entry-level only works with lenses with built-in focus motors, or manual focus with the one’s with-out.  They are great lenses, but your choice of second-hand good lenses are less.  I always ignore the rant about which one is better.  All I can say Nikon does feel better in the hand, than the Canons, but I believe I can get used to it.  My hands are small so I am surprised the Canons feel that uncomfortable.  So now I’ve started the hunt for the Canon 450D in the used market.  More on this once or when I make the move.  Then my equipment will be up for sale soon after that 😛

Making an investment is always hard to make, and it’s a shame that Olympus doesn’t give any straight answers.

What do you think?

