Images with an old lens vs. new lens

Not sure if you remember or not, I once posted about having an old Zenit Russian camera.  Since I took the pictures of it, I’ve sold the camera making the pictures, my Olympus E-500.  I still have the Zenit, and got an adapter to fit it on my Canon 450D.  So last weekend, I went out to the garden a took a few pictures with it, and with my Panasonic Super Zoom.  I used the 300mm Zenit at f4.5, and full manual settings, and tried to use the Panasonic at f2.8 some are taken with f4.  Keep in mind that the sensor size is different, the Panasonic is  1/2.3″ (6.17 x 4.55 mm), while the Canon is  22.2 x 14.8 mm CMOS sensor APS-C.  Both are 12 Megapixel, by pixel count.  Regardless, this post is not about the technicalities, just thought I should mention it 🙂

Images from the Canon with the huge lens, it was heavy and I got tired carrying it.

These are the images from my Panasonic.

Conclusion?  For my purposes, the Panasonic does an excellent job, I really don’t see the need for the bigger sensor.  Though I don’t mind having the APS-C with the 50mm F1.8 prime on it 😉

What do you think?

