Testing a Mirorless Camera

Olympus is running a promotion where you can get a loaner camera, and test it for at least a week, so I decided to give it a try, I got the Olympus E-PL5, with the kit lens 14-42mm.  I didn’t have too much time to play around with it, but the tests I did with it are very promising.  Images are crisp and sharp, even at high ISO.  Getting used to the Touch shutter 🙂  Trying to learn how it chooses focus area when I tap the touch screen.  Also I had to get used to the fact that I no longer have an Eye Finder, so I always have to use the screen, for framing (which is ok, just need to get used to it).  In the end I am sure my older DSLR is going up for sale, and I’m getting the Olympus Dual kit.  It’s a great value, not to mention it’s size.  The lenses are great, and the camera is also great, it has inbody built-in image stabilizer, which makes the lenses smaller, and lighter.  The whole camera with the lense, is smaller than my bridge Panasonic DMC-FZ200, not to mention my Canon D450.  I also don’t have to worry about processing RAW, even though I have that option if I choose to take RAW images.  All in all, I think this is a great camera, especially if light weight, and size matters.  After all, what good is a camera that you don’t have with you, because it’s too much to carry around?

This is me learning the touch shutter (choosing focus area, and releasing shutter through the touch screen)

PB220127

What I was trying to do is get the nail in focus, with no luck, but I learned later that I can do a focus peeking

PB220125

I was able to get some decent macro with the kit lens

PB220098

PB220090

What do you think?

